Susan Hassol

Susan Joy Hassol is a climate change communicator, analyst, and author known for her ability to translate science into English, making complex issues accessible to policymakers and the public for more than two decades. Susan was the Senior Science Writer on all three National Climate Assessments, authoritative reports written in plain language to better inform policymakers and the public about climate change and its effects on our nation. The Third U.S. National Climate Assessment (NCA), was released in May 2014 at the Whitehouse, the Second NCA came out in 2009, and the First NCA in 2000.

In 2012 Susan was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for her “exceptional contributions in the area of science communication, particularly for communication of the science of climate change to policymakers and the public.” In 2006, Susan Hassol received the Climate Institute’s first ever award for excellence in climate science communication, and was nominated in 2011 as Climate Change Communicator of the Year. She currently serves as Communication Advisor to the World Meteorological Organization’s Commission for Climatology. She served two terms on the Board of Directors of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), and has been a Visiting Scholar at NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center in Asheville NC, as well as at the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, CO.

Among Susan’s many accomplishments, she published an article, with Climate Communication’s Science Director Richard Somerville, in Physics Today in December 2011. The article, “Communicating the Science of Climate Change”, discussed how scientists can improve how they communicate to the public.

Susan has discussed climate change on many national radio and television shows including ABC’s 20/20, and frontline and NOW on PBS. She also has been seen on ABC News’ Global Warming 101 and Planet Earth 2007, Water. Susan has addressed influential groups including the U.S. Conference of Mayors (2007), the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation (2004), and the Sundance Summit of Mayors for Climate Protection (2006 and 2007).